Skip to content
Curtin University
Note to staff

5 December 2014


Wesfarmers Court

On Wednesday, I was delighted to speak at the opening of Wesfarmers Court, which is the area formerly known as Angazi Court, adjacent to Building 408.

The University has partnered with Wesfarmers to create a million-dollar business education precinct, and Wesfarmers Court is the first stage.

As staff will be aware, the area has undergone a major transformation and now features flexible outdoor business and study-focussed facilities. A digital ticker tape display surrounds Wesfarmers Court and supplies news of the day.

The Court is co-located with the Curtin Business School Trading Room and this will enable the space to integrate with the Trading Room’s technology.

Over 100 guests attended the event, and the Managing Director of Wesfarmers, Richard Goyder, officially opened the precinct.

The University is pleased to partner with Wesfarmers on this important project, which is part of Curtin’s Greater Curtin Master Plan to create a dynamic education and innovation hub.

The second stage, which is due to commence soon, will extend the facilities to provide additional space for students, staff and the broader community to interact in a range of educational, social and business activities.

Curtin Chancellor, Mr Colin Beckett; Wesfarmers' Managing Director, Mr Richard Goyder; Professor Deborah Terry and Mr John Langoulant.

Curtin Chancellor, Mr Colin Beckett; Wesfarmers’ Managing Director, Mr Richard Goyder; Professor Deborah Terry and Mr John Langoulant.

Curtin Razor

I would like to congratulate the Curtin students and staff involved in Curtin Razor 2014, which opened at the Cygnet Cinema in Como on Sunday.

The productions are a culmination of the skills developed by final year students who have undertaken a Bachelor of Arts in Film, Television and Screen Arts.

The films are produced, written and funded by students with assistance from the University. For the first time, HR video projection was used, which I understand significantly enhanced the final productions.

This is the 13th annual Curtin Razor and the University has a strong tradition of producing successful Screen Arts graduates, and I wish this year’s graduates the very best for their future careers.

Australian Organic Geochemistry Medal

I am delighted to announce that John Curtin Distinguished Professor Kliti Grice, has been awarded the prestigious Australian Organic Geochemistry (AOGC) Medal.

The Medal is awarded biennially to a distinguished member of the scientific community for lifetime achievement in the field of organic geochemistry. It was presented at the Australian Organic Geochemistry Conference in Adelaide on Monday.

Professor Grice joins an illustrious list of previous award winners, which includes Curtin colleagues, Emeritus Professor Robert Alexander, the 1998 recipient, and Emeritus Professor Robert Kagi, who received the award in 2008.

Professor Grice is the first-ever female recipient of the AOGC Medal.

The award is due recognition from the scientific community for the quality and depth of Professor Grice’s research and her determination to discover new knowledge.

I congratulate Kliti on this outstanding achievement.

Curtin Library wins 2014 VALA Award

The University Library has won the 2014 VALA Award for its “Curtin Library App”.

This biennial award recognises outstanding and innovative use of information and communications technology to improve service to customers and is open to all libraries and information services in Australia.

The Curtin Library App provides iPhone, iPod and iPad users with real-time, personalised, context-sensitive information about the Library and convenient access to Library resources and services. This includes the Library catalogue and a “virtual bookshelf”.

The app was originally proposed and primarily developed by Library staff members Rowena Holland and Matthew Robinson. Karen Tang, the Library’s Associate Director of Corporate Services, accepted the award on behalf of the Library team.

The free app, Curtin Library App is available from the iTunes App Store.

I congratulate Library staff on this achievement and their commitment to excellence and innovation in the Library client experience.

Australasian Pharmaceutical Sciences Association Medal

I am very pleased to announce that Professor Jeff Hughes from Curtin’s School of Pharmacy, has been awarded the 2014 Australasian Pharmaceutical Sciences Association (APSA) Medal.

The Medal is APSA’s highest accolade to recognise excellence and lasting contribution to the pharmaceutical sciences and pharmacy practise.

Professor Hughes is the first person from Curtin to receive the APSA Medal. He joins a list of Australasian pharmacy luminaries who have received the honour since its inception in 2004.

I congratulate Jeff on this wonderful achievement.

Western Australian Cancer Prevention Research Unit

I also congratulate Professor Simone Pettigrew from Curtin’s School of Psychology and Speech Pathology on being appointed the Director of the new Western Australian Cancer Prevention Research Unit (WACPRU).

The Unit is an alliance between the Faculty of Health Sciences and the Cancer Council of Western Australia and will focus on health promotion strategies to counteract cancer risk in WA.

WACPRU will be an activity hub for Curtin staff to work closely with the Cancer Council to address modifiable risk factors for cancer across a broad range of areas including tobacco, alcohol, nutrition, and sun exposure.

WACPRU is a wonderful opportunity to build further capacity in this important area and strengthen Curtin’s partnership with the Cancer Council.

  1. Marie Clarke December 5, 2014 4:11pm

    Much kudos and congratulations to you both, Rowe & Matt…Well Done!!

  2. Sheela Krnjajic December 8, 2014 8:37am

    Well done Matt and Rowena!!! :-)
    Rowena, thank you for your enthusiasm and creative mind, and Matt, for your brilliant, brilliant mind!!

Leave a Reply

You are welcome to leave a comment which will be visible to all visitors to this site.
Please log in to post a comment.