Skip to content
Curtin University
Note to staff

12 June 2014


National Health and Medical Research Council’s Excellence Awards

I am delighted to advise that Professor John Mamo from the Faculty of Health Sciences, who heads up the Vascular Biology Research Unit has been awarded the Marshall and Warren Award at the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) Excellence Awards.

The award acknowledges the most innovative and potentially transformative research project in NHMRC’s Project Grant scheme.

Professor Mamo was among 20 research recipients from around Australia to be acknowledged and is renowned for his research linking diets high in saturated fats to Alzheimer’s disease.

As winner of this award, Professor Mamo will receive funding to identify if cerebral capillary dysfunction is associated with cognitive defects and to investigate whether novel bioactive compounds reduce cerebral capillary dysfunction and cognitive decline in older aged mice.

I congratulate Professor Mamo for his outstanding contribution to medical research at Curtin.

Double celebration of Curtin’s history

I was delighted to host a special celebration last night, which recognised staff who have contributed to the University for 20 years and officially launched the book Look Ever Forward; A History of Curtin University 1987-2012.

I congratulate all the 20-year staff on their commitment to Curtin, and to our mission of delivering high quality education and research. Whatever their role, these staff have contributed hugely to the success of the University, to the impact of our educational offerings on our students, to our research achievements, and to our community profile.

Staff recognised at the event were presented with a copy of the book and a certificate, and those who were unable to attend will be contacted by Human Resources to advise how to collect theirs.

We are currently planning another celebration for our 30 and 40-year staff, which will be held in the very near future.

Dr Susan Hart, the author of Look Ever Forward was commissioned to write the book in 2010 as a companion volume to Michael White’s WAIT to Curtin, whilst teaching at the University.

My thanks and congratulations go to the author, as well as Valerie Raubenheimer, Imogen Garner and Bobbie Oliver who were responsible for the creation and development of the book.

Master degree receives special recognition

I am pleased to advise that the team behind Curtin’s new Master of Subsea Engineering, which was launched late last year, has recently received the Subsea Energy Australia (SEA) Special Recognition Award.

Professor Brian Evans and Dr David Parks of the Department of Petroleum Engineering were recognised for developing the first subsea engineering master degree in Australia and New Zealand, following a demand for engineers to produce oil and gas at deeper sea depths.

With more than 60 students enrolled in its inaugural year, most of whom are existing oil and gas professionals, the new master degree is clearly filling a need for this industry.

I congratulate Professor Evans and Dr Parks on their achievement and for placing one of Curtin’s many valuable postgraduate programs in the spotlight.

  1. Leon Polak June 12, 2014 4:42pm

    Thanks to you and all who had a hand in organising the event

    I really enjoyed it and the get together afterwards – catching up with lots of people who I have worked with for many years was great

    I am looking forward to seeing the photos

    Receiving the book brought back memories of when I graduated at the Perth Concert Hall many moons ago

Leave a Reply

You are welcome to leave a comment which will be visible to all visitors to this site.
Please log in to post a comment.