Skip to content
Curtin University
Note to staff

27 January 2012


Curtin community members receive Australia Day honours
Congratulations to our Vice-Chancellor Professor Jeanette Hacket, Associate Professor Rosemary Coates from the Faculty of Health Sciences, and former Director of Curtin’s Centre for Marine Science and Technology Emeritus Professor John Penrose who have been recognised in the 2012 Australia Day Honours List.

The Australian honours system celebrates the outstanding achievements and contributions of extraordinary Australians in a diverse range of fields and areas of endeavour.  It recognises people in the community whose service and contributions have made a significant difference to Australian life or, more broadly, to humanity at large

Professor Hacket was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her service to tertiary education administration at Curtin University, including fostering links with overseas institutions, and the promotion of equitable educational services for regional communities.

Associate Professor Coates was named an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)  for her distinguished service to the community in the field of reproductive and sexual health through executive roles with national and international health organisations, and to medical education and research.

Emeritus Professor John Penrose was named a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to the community through the Volunteer Task Force of Western Australia, and to education in the field of marine science and physics.

We are also delighted to see that the WA Governor, His Excellency Malcolm McCusker, was named a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for his eminent service to the people of Western Australia, particularly through the provision of equitable access to legal representation, as an advocate for sustainable development and education, and through significant philanthropic support for a range of medical research, youth and arts organisations.

His Excellency was a founding board member of Curtin’s Australian Sustainable Development Institute (ASDI) and the inaugural chair of Curtin’s McCusker Centre for Action on Alcohol and Youth (MCAAY).

Congratulations to all on this national honour.

Managed Print Services update
Last year the Vice-Chancellor announced that Fuji Xerox had been selected as the preferred supplier for the University’s Managed Print Solution, and I am pleased to update you on the next phase of this project.

The roll out of new printer/copiers will begin at the end of February. A full roll out schedule will be made available to faculties and areas shortly.

The introduction of a more efficient, smaller fleet of printer/copiers is part of Curtin’s commitment to reducing its carbon footprint. The new fleet of standardised multifunction printer/copiers feature ‘follow-me’ printing capability for secure printing, as well as scan to email options. These features will help save energy, paper and consumables.

CUSP partnership continues to deliver results for people of Geraldton
I would like to congratulate the Curtin University Sustainable Policy (CUSP) Institute on the ongoing success of their partnership with the City of Greater Geraldton (CGG) for achieving international recognition in the delivery of 2029 and Beyond.

The project involves CUSP and CGG working collaboratively with the community, industry and government to achieve a carbon neutral future and has generated significant national and international attention.

Last year Geraldton was awarded a special UN award for world’s best Community Participation and Empowerment. The project also achieved fifth placing – out of 123 projects from 36 countries – in the Reinhard Mohn 2011 Prize for Vitalising Democracy through Participation.

In addition, Geraldton received a Silver Award for overall liveability for a city of 20,000 to 75,000 people at the International Awards for Liveable Communities (LivCom) in November last year.

Led by Professor Janette Hartz-Karp, the project demonstrates CUSP’s commitment to becoming leaders in sustainable policy, in this instance, by developing new ways of collaborative problem solving and decision-making to co-create a sustainable future.

Professor Graeme Wright
Acting Vice-Chancellor

  1. Charles Boyle January 27, 2012 2:56pm

    Congratulations to Curtin student Cynthia Sasongko for winning the City of South Perth “Young citizen of the Year Award and the Premier’s Active Young citizenship Award, and her most excellent and inspiring words of thanks.

    Also congratulations to Curtin student Johanna Eppler who was nominated for the same award.

    Well done also to the several Curtin staff and students who sang with the New Era Baha’i choir at the same event.

Leave a Reply

You are welcome to leave a comment which will be visible to all visitors to this site.
Please log in to post a comment.