Skip to content
Curtin University
Note to staff

7 May, 2008


Carrick Competitive Grants

I am pleased to announce that two teams from Curtin have been successful in securing a Carrick Competitive Grant. Only seven were funded from the 23 applications submitted nationally. The two successful Curtin applications were:

Developing primary teacher education students’ professional capacities for children’s diverse mathematics achievement and learning needs.
Team members:

  • A/Professor Sandra Frid (Project Leader)
  • A/Professor Len Sparrow
  • Dr Lina Pelliccione
  • Dr Chris Hurst
  • Dr Susan Beltman

Science for Early Childhood Teacher Education Students (ECTES): Collaboration between Teacher Educators, Scientists and Engineers.
Team members:

  • Dr Christine Howitt (Project Leader)
  • Ms Elaine Blake (Project Manager)
  • Professor Jo Ward
  • A/Professor Len Sparrow
  • A/Professor Sandra Frid
  • Dr Yvonne Carnellor
  • A/Professor Mario Zadnik
  • A/Professor Mauro Mocerino
  • A/Professor Simon Lewis
  • Dr Martina Calais

This is a tremendous achievement for these two teams and recognises the significant contribution they have made to their fields of study. Congratulations to all staff involved in these successful applications.

Curtin-Western Power partnership

Curtin recently signed an agreement with Western Power through which Western Power will provide the University’s Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering with close to $1 million over a five year period to fund a Chair in Power Engineering and five undergraduate bursaries.

This collaboration aims to increase expertise in the power industry in response to the power industry skills shortage and demand for advanced technological solutions. The direct result of this collaboration will be an increase in the quantity and quality of students and the development of sustainable strategies for all power engineering related strategies.

Students will also benefit from work experience opportunities and vacation employment as a result of the partnership. The added benefit of the appointment of a Chair in Power Engineering will ensure that teaching and training as well as research and development will have a particular focus on industry needs. The Chair will be advertised internationally.

John Curtin Medal Nominations 2008

Each year, Curtin honours former Prime Minister John Curtin, by awarding the prestigious John Curtin Medal. This award is presented to members of the community who have made significant contributions in their field, either within Australia or internationally. These individuals personify John Curtin’s outstanding attributes of vision, leadership and community service.

In the past ten years, 26 Medallists (including one joint award) have been chosen from a list of nominees. Last year’s Medallists were:

  • Dennis Eggington – an Aboriginal leader and activist who has been at the heart of discussions about the nature of Nyungar sovereignty and nation, personally consulting communities throughout Nyungar country. He is also committed to improving the quality of life and opportunities for Indigenous people.
  • David Goldstone – has raised over $10 million for charity and been the driving force behind fundraising campaigns such as the Subiaco Craft and Community Fair, the Rotary WA Cord Blood Bank Appeal and the St John of God Foundation Horizon Program.

Other previous Medallists include:

  • Ms Lynne Evans, a dedicated advocate for improving the quality of care and support for people with mental illness;
  • Ajahn Brahm, a Buddhist Abbot, who has worked tirelessly with the Western Australian community and promoted religious harmony through regular encouragement and participation in interfaith activities;
  • Ms May O’Brien, a leader in the field of education and in the Aboriginal community;
  • Dr Eric Tan, a pioneer of endoscopic ‘key hole’ surgery in Australia, a campaigner against racism and a dedicated worker for Australia’s youth;
  • Dr George O’Neil, an obstetrician best known for his life-saving work in the treatment of drug addicts.

The John Curtin Medal is awarded annually as part of the October 7 anniversary of John Curtin’s swearing in as Prime Minister.

I invite you to nominate candidates for the John Curtin Medal by completing and returning the Nomination Form to the Public Relations Manager, Corporate Communications, Building 104. Nominations should be received by 5pm Friday 18 July 2008.

Further information can be found at or by contacting Julia Nicol, Public Relations Manager on x 7711.

Please note that nominations are strictly confidential and potential candidates should not be contacted to assist in completion of the Nomination Form.

Curtin FM 100.1 Radiothon

I am also pleased to announce that this year’s Curtin FM 100.1 Radiothon, held in April, exceeded all expectations and raised a tremendous $115,000 worth of donations.

It is an even greater success than last year’s figure of $80,000 and the money raised will go back into the station to help cover the running costs as well as upgrading infrastructure before a potential move into digital radio in the next few years.

Congratulations to Station Manager Quinn Glasson and everyone at Curtin FM 100.1 for the Station’s success.