Skip to content
Curtin University
Note to staff

26 August, 2008


Curtin Singapore – Appointment of a PVC

I am pleased to advise Associate Professor John Neilson has been appointed as the new Pro Vice-Chancellor of Curtin’s recently announced Singapore campus.

A/Professor Neilson is a long standing staff member of CBS, and has been Head of Accounting since 1998. He has also served as acting Pro Vice-Chancellor of CBS over a number a periods. A/Professor Neilson is in an excellent position to oversee the establishment of all academic aspects of the campus.

He has been a significant contributor to the development of numerous professional and academic courses at CBS and Curtin and has developed a strong reputation within the Western Australian business community.

His experience will be invaluable in providing academic and strategic leadership for the Singapore campus as well as managing the quality of its programs.

Curtin’s Singapore campus is scheduled to commence operations in December this year and will offer CBS courses, and based on student demand, new programs from other faculties including Humanities and Health Sciences.

As mentioned previously, the Singapore campus will be managed and operated by Navitas Singapore Pte Limited, a wholly owned subsidiary of Navitas Limited, a long standing partner of Curtin. Navitas Limited also operates the University’s Sydney campus on behalf of Curtin as well as Curtin International College and many other colleges in Australia and overseas.

Curtin Singapore will provide a comprehensive teaching facility which will enhance the student experience while providing research and development opportunities for the University, and strengthening industry engagement in Singapore.

We look forward to continuing to work with A/Professor Neilson in his new role.

Curtin 2008 Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Awards

Following the recommendations from the Awards Committee, I am delighted to announce the winners of the 2008 Curtin Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Awards. It was pleasing to see a significant increase in the number of applications this year and the Committee commended the calibre of all the Curtin applications. This year there are 9 Award winners, each receiving a certificate in recognition of their contribution to the quality of student learning and a prize of $5 000 to enhance teaching and learning. Congratulations to the 2008 Curtin EIT Award winners:

Awards for Teaching Excellence
Teaching Excellence – Early Career Academic
Dr Nicoleta Balliu, Department of Chemical Engineering

Teaching Excellence – Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies
A/Prof Jan Grant, School of Psychology

Teaching Excellence – Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies
Mr Glen Hutchings, School of Accounting
Teaching Excellence – Law, Economics, Business and Related Studies
A/Prof Ian Phau, School of Marketing

Teaching Excellence – Early Career Academic
Mr Terence Tan, School of Engineering, Curtin Sarawak

Teaching Excellence – Social Sciences (includes Education)
Prof David Treagust, Science and Mathematics Education Centre

Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning
Programs that Enhance Learning – The First Year Experience

Creating Engineers using Engineering Foundations Principles and Communications – Prof David Scott, Ms Helen Rogers, Dr Euan Lindsay, Mr Roger Munt and Ms Karen Sullivan

Programs that Enhance Learning – Flexible Learning and Teaching
Graduate School of Business – Staff of the GSB. Proposal submitted by A/Prof Rick Ladyshewsky, Ms Inna Geoghan, Prof Robert Evans, A/Prof Peter Galvin and Ms Fleur Cornelius

Programs that Enhance Learning – Educational Partnerships and Collaborations with Other Organisations
Gribble Rosenwax Advanced Clinical Education Programme (GRACE) – Mr Nigel Gribble and Prof Lorna Rosenwax

I would like to invite all staff and Heads of Schools to attend the presentation ceremony of the 2008 Curtin Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Awards to be held on Thursday 28 August 2.30-4.00pm in the Council Chamber Foyer, Level 3, Building 100. For venue and catering purposes please RSVP to Sue Shephard on ext. 1950 by Wednesday 27 August.

Australian Learning and Teaching Council Grants

I am also pleased to announce that Curtin has been successful in two Australian Learning and Teaching Council Grants. Professor Beverley Oliver (Director of Teaching and Learning) is the Project Leader of a Competitive Grant called ‘Building course team capacity to enhance graduate employability’ (a two year project funded at $220,000). The project will be conducted in collaboration with three other universities and will involve developing Curtin’s eVALUate Graduate and Employer survey systems. Ms Sue Jones, Dean Teaching and Learning, Health Sciences is on the leadership team of a Competitive Grant with Murdoch University. This two year project, "Unit Coordinators as Academic Leaders" , focuses on clarifying, developing and valuing the role of Unit Coordinators as informal leaders of learning in Higher Education. Both projects build on a current Curtin-led ALTC project, Academic Leadership for Course Coordinators, in which many staff from across the University have participated.

“Deadly” Awards

Congratulations to Aaron Matthews, a staff member at CAS and Curtin student who has been nominated for “Young Leader of the Year” in the annual prestigious Indigenous “Deadly” Awards. The Deadly Sounds Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Music, Sport, Entertainment and Community Awards (aka the ‘Deadlys’) promote Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander achievement as a marketable and growing force within Australia. The awards provide a tangible forum by which the wider community can learn about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander music and culture.

Aaron is a descendant of the Woolah Tribe of Speewah Country in the North East Kimberley. He went to various primary schools throughout the Northern Territory and completed his secondary education at Mount Isa State High School. Aaron was involved in various leadership activities in his high school years such as the Indigenous Youth Leadership Forum and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Aspirations Program.

Aaron continued to be very active within Indigenous leadership and community development programs after completing high school. He enrolled in the Indigenous Community Management and Development Program at Curtin and continued to study in remote locations after returning to Mt Isa. In 2007 he was awarded the Mr. NAIDOC Mount Isa, for his personal and community development work.

He is currently an Associate Lecturer at CAS. We wish him the best of luck with his nomination.

Celebrating 40 Years of Service

At a recent event, a small group of staff and their partners joined Professors Linda Kristjanson, Andris Stelbovics, and Clare Pollock to recognise and celebrate their service to the University over the past 40 years. Most of the group commenced as founding staff members of the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT) and have continued through to the present. What interesting changes they have all seen over the years and what corporate knowledge is within this small group. My congratulations to:

Dr. Steve Errington – Applied Chemistry
Mr Richard Langham – Pharmacy
Prof. Bruce Sunderland – Pharmacy
Dr. Ian Bailey – Imaging and Applied Physics
Mr. Geoff Chidlow – Applied Chemistry
Mr Max Page – Pharmacy
A/Prof. Mervyn L – Imaging and Applied Physics
Dr Neville Saunders – Asian Studies
A/Prof. Colin Marshall – Pharmacy